Please wait... 

Resource tools

File information File size Options

Original PDF File

429 KB Download


618 × 800 pixels (0.49 MP)

5.2 cm × 6.8 cm @ 300 PPI

134 KB Download


Full screen preview

134 KB View
Resource details

Resource ID




Contributed by

Lisa Smits


Landscapes, Livelihoods, Investments, Planning, Policy, Water, Ecosystem services


Kenya; Ewaso Nyiro; Ewaso Ngiro; Tana; Tana River; Tana River Basin; Policy; Agriculture; Wetlands




05 November 18


Titus Wamae

Document type

Policy brief


Reference to existing legislations such as Water Act, RAMSAR convention, National water master plan, Lake Naivasha catchment area protection 2012 legal notice No.8 2013, Wildlife Conservation protected wetlands 2015 among others

Document extract

1. The Convention on Wetlands of International Importance especially as Habitats for Waterfowls, 1971
The mission of the Ramsar Convention is “the conservation and wise use of all wetlands through local, regional and national actions and international cooperation, as a contribution towards achieving sustainable development throughout the world”. Article 1.1 of the Ramsar Convention (RC, 1971), defines a wetland as: "Areas of marsh, fen, peatland or water, whether natural or artificial, permanent or temporary, with water that is static or flowing, fresh, brackish or salt including areas of marine water, the depth of which at low tide does not exceed six metres. These areas may incorporate riparian and coastal zones adjacent to the wetlands, and islands or bodies of marine water deeper than six metres at low tide lying within the wetlands”. This definition has considered in defining wetlands in the Regulations.
Kenya ratified the Ramsar Convention on the 5th of October 1990. Has 7 International Ramsar sites, the Tana Delta being the latest one listed on the 7th of September 2012.

Related featured and public collections
 Public : PfR Indonesia
Search for similar resources